Skip to content

Mend

August 26, 2015

2015::365::144-146

Every now and then I do something small that I think is just “the coolest”.  My children, however, are unmoved.  This is one of those times.  Above are two pairs of hand-me-down jeans from O to N.  As he had blown out one knee in each pair of pants, I thought funky woven patches in fun colors were most certainly in order.  I patched the pants, held them up for N and she said “Yeah, I already saw them, mama.”  Oh.  Well, then.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about making and mending and what our clothing really means to us.  Along with the rest of the world, I’ve been reading KonMarie’s The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and the way she writes about clothing and our relationship to it is lovely.  If you can hold a piece of clothing in your hands and give it your energy, feel it “spark joy” in your being, how wonderful is that?  Makes me want to run far far away from fast fashion.  The more time I spend making and mending, the more of myself I’m giving to these garments that cover myself and those I love, the less time I’m spending discarding and buying and replacing.  A disposable wardrobe is not something I want or an idea I want to pass to my children.  While the origin of these jeans is certainly one of “fast fashion”, they don’t have to stay that way.  This darning, mending, making is my own quiet act of rebellion, one that will give these pants longer life and keep them out of the landfill that much longer.  Who knows what lies in their future.  You could be looking at future doll clothes, or a quilt,  or even next Summer’s shorts.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

