Skip to content

Ella: A Handmade Cloth Doll

August 11, 2015

2015::365::140-143

Ah, Ella, you spunky little thing!

Ella is an 18″ handmade cloth doll.  She has fair cotton interlock skin and light blue eyes.  Her hair is a mohair weft crocheted into a wig and then wrangled into pigtails.  She has a cotton dress along with a woolly sweater and matching boots.  Ella is one of those dolls that both surprised and thrilled me with her final look.  I always have a “plan” for my dolls but they don’t always come out exactly the way I think they will.  It’s so much fun to watch them come to life under my fingertips.  It’s almost like magic.

Ella has already found a home but if you are looking for a November Morning Doll of your own, I have 2 spots left for the year.  That’s right, just two, one spot for September and one for October!  Right now I offer a 14″ or 18″ doll.  Each listing is for an 18″ doll but if you would like a 14″, please just let me know when you check out.  (The deposit is the same regardless and I can adjust the balance for size.  So, no worries about that.)  I’m hoping to have a baby style doll soon, but I don’t expect to have any custom spots until after the new year.  I know, I know!  It’s still Summer and I’m already planning for 2016!  I do hope to have a few surprises for you between now and then (perhaps some holiday elves), but we will have to see what the days bring!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2015 9:06 am

    That is such a cute little doll! I have thought about trying to make my own dolls, but they always look so complicated and I never know if they would actually turn out right. But yours is adorable.

  2. Rosalie McCartney permalink
    August 30, 2015 6:10 pm

    Ella is wonderful. I can’t wait to see the look on my great niece’s face. It is so hard to wait until her birthday!!! I believe that Ella will become Sadie’s best friend, her tea party guest and her bed time story partner. Thank you. You are truly an artist. You obviously put your heart and soul into your dolls.

Thoughts?

