Skip to content

Modern Rag Dolls in Progress

May 31, 2015

2015::365::85

Left to Right:  tea, rose, linen, wool.

The first three of these fabrics are a delicious linen /cotton blend in the various tones I plan to offer (along with the various tones that inherently come with tea-dying).  The fourth will be a robot-inspired rag doll for O on his sixth birthday.  The linen blend dolls are stuffed with a corn fiber, which I’m finding to be fascinating stuff.  Like wool, the corn fiber can stuff quite firmly and almost makes the doll limbs posable.  I’ve been using wool felt for hair but there are so many other options, such as scraps of fabric or even eco-felt.  I love the way these materials broaden our options, including making these dolls more vegan-friendly.

This is an exciting venture, friends!  Thanks for sharing it with me.  Look for new dolls ready to go in the shop early June!

*Unless there is great interest, I don’t plan to carry wool rag dolls much, perhaps seasonally.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2015 2:26 pm

    Very cool that you’re making some vegan friendly dolls – as an ex-vegan myself, I can’t say I even would have thought of vegan dolls!

    • June 1, 2015 4:16 pm

      I have a very good friend that is vegan. As someone that uses wool on a daily basis, I do try to be conscious of where it comes from. I doubt I’ll ever “quit wool” but I do aspire to be responsible about it. I have a great deal of respect for vegans and would be terribly sad if I found they didn’t feel my dolls were accessible to their families because of something I could easily change on my end. :)

Thoughts?

