Skip to content

Polish

May 18, 2015

2015::365::66,67

The preprimary classes at our kids’ school do a Mother’s Day Tea every year.  It’s a wonderful event, so sweet.  All the little ones dress up.  The moms do too.  “Dressing up” can be problematic for me.  I pretty much wear a uniform.  (jeans, yoga top skirt, tank, fitted tee, leggings, sack-like dress, super messy top knot, scarf, cardigan)  It works for me, most days.  As do these shoes, most days.

In my quest to create an outfit worthy of how hard my boy had been working on making this tea so very special, I took a good look at my shoes.  They needed some love, some polish perhaps.  Like fancy attire, shoe polish is another thing missing from my closet.  But beeswax?  Oh, beeswax, there’s plenty of that around.  I wasn’t sure it would work, but figured it was worth a try.

There you have it, folks, a shoe polished with beeswax.  And that giant scuff on the left shoe?  Well, that buffed right out!

I feel like I stumbled on the stuff of diy-genius here but I suspect I’m not the first to polish my shoes with beeswax.

And just so you’re not left wondering, here we are:

See the mud on that little boy’s knees?  Oh, he’s just the cutest.

*For the curious, I used the same polish we use on unfinished wood and toys.  Lavender, of course.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2015 2:45 pm

    I know he would have loved having you there even with scuffed shoes! (I’m not a dress up gal either – I don’t even own a pair of dress shoes.)

Thoughts?

