Skip to content

DIY Sugar Scrub

May 3, 2015

2015::365::55

This past Christmas my sister gifted me the most wonderful lemon sugar scrub.  When the jar fell into the tub and broke, I nearly cried.  I asked my sister for her recipe, hoping to make another batch myself.  Well, her “recipe” was something along the lines of I just threw it all in together until it felt right.  Humph!

In an attempt to find a real recipe, I scoured Pinterest and I have to say it seems everyone is pretty much doing the same thing as my sister.  Sure, they give you measurements sometimes, but you know they’re just mixing things up ’til it feels right.

Months later, and still dreaming of my sister’s lovely scrub, I decided to come up with one of my own.  Here are the numbers (if you’re into that sort of thing).

DIY Sugar Scrub

  • 1/2 C organic virgin coconut oil
    I used this.
  • 2 C sugar
  • essential oils, dried herbs, flowers, etc
    I use either Aura Cacia essential oils or the blends from LuSa, or both.

Mix the coconut oil and sugar together until well blended.  Doing this in my KA mixer made it a breeze.  Then mix in oils until desired scent is achieved.  Easy, right?  This made about two pints of scrub.

Now, would you like some more numbers?

Sleepy Mama Sugar Scrub

  • Above ratios of coconut oil and sugar along with 7 drops LuSa Sleepy Baby blend and 3 drops lavender essential oils.

Mornin’ Mama Sugar Scrub

  • Above ratios of coconut oil and sugar along with 10 drops LuSa Cranky Pants blend and 3 drops lavender essential oils.

Just looking around the herb garden and at the other oils on the kitchen shelf, I’m coming up with tons of ideas!  Just a few examples are:  dried rosemary and mint, lavender and vanilla, dried rose petals, and of course, lemon!

We made two batches this past weekend, one Sleepy Mama and one Mornin’ Mama.  I put some in jars for Mother’s Day and teacher gifts but was sure to keep some for myself as well.  And on that note, I’m off to indulge.  Enjoy!

PS  Always remember to be careful when using essential oils and never to use them undiluted.  Also, I cannot be responsible for what happens in your kitchen, bathroom, or anywhere else while making or using your own beauty products.  Please be careful and keep in mind, I’m just doing what feels right for me and my family.  Thanks!

No comments yet

Thoughts?

