Skip to content

Max: A Handmade Cloth Doll

March 25, 2015

2015::365::42-44 Max.  When I first started sketching and writing up ideas for Max, I thought he was going to be a girl.  However, once his sweet face was finished, I took one look and knew he was a boy all along.  How could I have been so foolish?

Another realization I had while making Max is that my 17″ Sunshine dolls are actually 18″.  (I measure from the toe line to hairline.)  Somehow they’ve grown since I first designed the pattern.  I suppose I’ve grown too.  One of the things people often say upon meeting one of my dolls is that they didn’t expect them to be so big.  At 18″ with a whole pound of wool in there, these are substantial dolls, very satisfying to hold and hug.  I’m also currently working on a slightly smaller doll.  I initially thought 12″ but she is working out closer to 14″.  (I see a theme here, do you?)  For now I’m calling this smaller pattern the Dandelion Doll.  I hope to have more information for you closer to Summer, perhaps May.

I have gotten a few inquiries about purchasing Max and I’m flattered that so many would like to bring him home.  Created as a donation doll to go to auction for the financial aid fundraiser at our kids’ school, Max has already left to find his home.  I do still have a couple of custom spots available in May and July, if you might like to bring home a November Morning Doll of your own.  Thanks so much!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2015 1:58 pm

    He’s great Carrie. You’re a very talented doll maker/artist.

Trackbacks

  1. A November Morning Makeover: Melina |

Thoughts?

