Skip to content

Mend

January 27, 2015

2015::365::12-13

Last year, around this time, I gifted B a pair of hand-knitted socks.  (They were supposed to be a Solstice gift but it just didn’t happen.)  This year, I had the pleasure of mending those very socks.  Yes, I said pleasure.  Pleasure in knowing that something I knitted for someone I love was appreciated and utilized to the point of being worn through.  Pleasure in having the skill and opportunity to give that same something more life with just a little time and, really, minimal effort.  Now that I know how quick and rather simple darning is, I can’t imagine ever not doing it.

I used the “re-knit and graft” method as described by Kate Gilbert for Twist Collective.  I chose this method because the holes really were big enough to need a patch rather than mere reinforcement.  I also like that the patch is knit like the rest of the fabric, not woven.  As this is a worsted weight sock, you can see the patches a bit but I imagine that they will blend with time.

I’ve also been eyeballing some of the blown out knees in the kids’ jeans and thinking about a possible sashiko project.

What about you?  Do you mend and repair?

ETA:  This is TinCanKnits’ Rye knitted in Peace Fleece Brownie with Nuts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2015 7:13 pm

    I find mending so rewarding. I remember hearing a “This I Believe,” essay on NPR once by a pastor. She was talking about how much she has come to appreciate mending because it represents the mending of relationships. We have a tendency to walk away from relationships just as we have a tendency to send holey socks to the trash bin. I loved this and planted the seed for my now love of mending. Unfortunately, no matter how much I do, there is always a huge basket from our hard working family of five! The socks look amazing. I am not a very good darner yet.

    • January 27, 2015 7:17 pm

      Yes! You can’t help but feel tenderness toward those whose holey socks you make “new” again. Well said, Coco. Thank you!
      (And I hear you, my “to mend” list is about as long as my “to make” list. ;) )

Thoughts?

