Skip to content

DIY No Sew Tutu

October 29, 2014

31::365::179-181

I feel a little bit of a curmudgeon when I say this, but Halloween is not my holiday.  I don’t like to be scared and neither do my children.  I’m not for giving children buckets of candy or the shenanigans that often go on after dark.  And quite frankly, staying out past bedtime throws a wrench in our family rhythm that lasts a couple of days.  In an effort not to suck the fun out of something that really can be fun, I try to focus on the light parts of the holiday and leave the rest.  We visit the pumpkin patch, wander through the corn maze, decorate jack-o-lanterns, and bake pumpkin and apple everything.  We also dress up!

Each year I try to make things for Halloween that can be added to our dress up basket after the holiday has passed.   N has recently found an appreciation for ballet and ballerinas.  I’m not sure where this came from, but I’m delighted to explore it with her.  After a brief search for a tutu to purchase, I was unable to find one that was quite what we wanted.  What’s a maker-mama to do but make it herself?  There are lots of DIY tutu tutorials online.  I grabbed the parts I liked of different ones and went with a simple no-sew method.  This tutu cost me maybe $6 and brought my girl a whole lot of joy.  So good.

DIY No-Sew Tutu

Materials:

  • Scissors
  • 1″ elastic, long enough to go around the waist of the wearer
  • A few rolls of 6″ tulle.  I think I used between 60-80 yds, in 3 different colors.
  • A way to measure your tulle.  I used a book.  I saw many tutorials using cardboard.
  • A needle and thread for sewing the ends of elastic together.  (Ok.  Maybe this is low-sew instead of no-sew?)

Method:

  1. Measure the length of elastic you will need for your tutu (probably a couple of inches less than waist measurement).  Cut and sew the two ends together.  Be careful not to twist the elastic before you sew.  I just measured with the elastic itself and then cut.  Very precise, indeed.
  2. Measure and cut many many strips of tulle to be folded in half and knotted.  Mine were about 21″ long before folding.
  3. Using a couple of layers of tulle at a time, fold it in half and loop the length around the elastic waistband and back through itself, creating a knot around the top of the tulle.  I used three layers of tulle at a time, making for a seriously fluffy tutu.  Work each knot to the top of the tulle to make sure it is looped nice and snug.  Do this around the entire waistband.  Be sure to pack the tulle in there.  You don’t want any gaps once the tutu is on and the elastic is stretched a bit.
  4. Wear, prance, and enjoy!

What costumes are you creating this year?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2014 8:12 pm

    Really cute Carrie – that is a serious tutu! You are not alone in the anti-Halloween club. The more I think about it, the more I just don’t like it. The world is scary enough, without the fake gore and monsters. The over commercialization of it with bad candy and junk made in China. No thank you. I’m okay with calling myself a party pooper!

  2. October 24, 2015 5:19 pm

    Reblogged this on .

Trackbacks

  1. Glimpses: Dragon Tutu |

Thoughts?

