Skip to content

Lavender

July 10, 2014

31::365::123-125

Our lavender is in its second year and some plants have been more successful than others.  I find they are happiest if I plant them away from water and pretty much ignore them.  I haven’t been able to harvest much but am thrilled with the buds we do have.  Lavender is a lovely plant, even the foliage looks and smells amazing.  Our happiest lavender is planted near the roses and I’m convinced we’re having less trouble with aphids and beetles this year.  You might want to check in with me in a few weeks to be sure about that though. ;)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2014 9:54 am

    Lavender is one of my favorite scents. I can almost smell it now. I will check back!

    I went to the high tunnel for my garden this week. http://robinfollette.com/in-the-garden-on-july-10/

  2. July 10, 2014 2:24 pm

    I had a couple of lavender plants for several years and would harvest a handful of sprigs that I put into muslin and store with my yarn.

  3. July 11, 2014 8:48 am

    I planted lavender for the first time this year and am curious to see what I get and if it will overwinter well.

    • July 11, 2014 12:29 pm

      We lost probably 1/2 of our plants over winter. The ones that survived were planted above where water tends to drain in our yard and close to a building (for protection). I know we don’t live in the most ideal place for growing lavender but I’m going to keep trying anyway (NE US). ;)

Thoughts?

