Skip to content

Into the Flower Garden

June 12, 2014

31::365::103-110

I cheated a little bit here, one of these photos is of something in the herb garden (chives) and another is a potted plant (violet).  I just couldn’t leave them out though, as pretty as they are!  I love the way Spring comes slowly and then suddenly every year.  One moment we’re wrapping up in our woolens and the next I’m filling the house with cut flowers and immersing myself in cottage garden dreams with books like this and this.  So very lovely.

Edited to add notes for the curious:
(flowers top to bottom)
…  I don’t know the name of this flower but we do enjoy it.
…  chives in the herb garden
…  English rose, Strawberry Hill
…  English rose, Strawberry Hill
…  English rose, Graham Thomas
…  Peonies, Duchesse de Nemours and Raspberry Sundae
…  Peony, Duchesse de Nemours
…  Violet given to me by my mother in law, divided from her own plant.  I don’t know anything about it really, but it seems happy on that windowsill!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2014 10:03 am

    My irises are just about done, but daylilies and peonies haven’t quite come out yet. Looking forward to those though!

  2. June 12, 2014 12:44 pm

    Gorgeous – I love that first pink rose, how round and perfect the shape is.

  3. June 23, 2014 4:24 pm

    Gorgeous photos. Such a great time of year for all that is blooming.

Thoughts?

