Skip to content

About November Morning Dolls

April 24, 2014

31::365::86, 87

A few preview photos of the doll I’m working on for April:

I’ve mentioned this doll-making journey I’m on a few times now, and I think perhaps it’s time to tell you a little more.   The dolls I make are best described as waldorf-inspired cloth dolls.  They are 16-18″ tall and made with natural materials.  The dolls are covered with organic cotton interlock knit and firmly stuffed with lovely clean wool from humanely raised sheep.  Doll clothing is also made from natural materials, mostly cotton, linen, and wool.  I  knit for each doll as well, usually a sweater.

I only make one or two dolls a month.  Making a doll by hand is a slow process and the last thing I want to do is rush.  The making is truly a labor of love and I pour my heart into each one.  So much personality is in the details and I enjoy taking the time to bring it out.  Although each of my dolls is custom-made, even two dolls with the same features would still be just a bit different.  That is the nature of handmade and part of what makes dolls like this so special.

If you are interested in a November Morning Doll, you may be pleased to know my Etsy shop can be found here.  Right now I have a custom spot available for May as well as a custom spot available for June.  Please contact me or leave a comment with any questions.  Many humble thanks and love to those that have supported me so far.

~Carrie

PS  I’ve finally managed to get name-change approval for the November Morning Facebook page.  The page is still under the the old blog name (Oh Baby O), but should be updated April 28th.  No worries though, still the same blog, same content.  Thanks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2014 6:04 am

    These dolls are so beautiful & it is obvious the time & care taken to make them.

  2. April 25, 2014 9:16 pm

    Loving that headband Carrie! And the dimples! I love that you use natural and organic materials. You are truly a doll making artist.

Thoughts?

