Skip to content

Maple Frozen Yogurt

April 22, 2014

31::365::85

It’s cool and rainy here today but surely warmer days are ahead!  What treat do we love most on warm days?  Ice cream.  Yes, indeed.  I’ve made lots of homemade ice cream over the last few years and though it is delicious, it isn’t particularly inexpensive and the amount of white sugar that often goes in makes me cringe.  I want a creamy treat I can give my little ones on a warm Summer afternoon that won’t make me feel guilty.  I’ve made frozen yogurt in the past but again with the white sugar.

We’ve tried other “healthy” alternatives, including the ever-popular frozen bananas in the blender.  (The kids like it alright, but I’m not a big fan.)  Then after Grammy brought us some nice dark maple syrup over the weekend when I just happened to have finished a batch of homemade yogurt, I thought, why not?

The kids loved it!  (The adults did too!)

Maple Frozen Yogurt

  • 1 Quart Whole Plain Yogurt
  • 3/4 C Maple Syrup
  • Splash Vanilla Extract
  • Pinch Sea Salt

Put all together into your ice cream maker and let it do it’s thing.  (Ours takes about 1/2 hour.)  Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2014 9:25 pm

    I just need to wait for my 7 gallons of maple syrup to arrive from my husband’s co-worker! Its driving my crazy that I have to ration the small (expensive) container I had to buy in the grocery store.

Thoughts?

