Skip to content

Emma

April 8, 2014

31::365::78,79

Oh, Emma…

Something magical happened when I made this doll.  It’s difficult to put into words but I think I’m starting to understand what other doll makers are talking about when they speak of bringing a doll to life.  I swear this doll has a bit of a twinkle in her eye!

When I started making dolls (not so very long ago), I thought I would name them all.  I didn’t.  I don’t.  When a doll is being made for a specific person, I let my hands do their work and leave the naming up to the doll’s family.  In a way, I’m merely a conduit for the doll to come to be.  Emma is the first doll that I’ve made that didn’t go directly from me to her intended family.  (So sad.  I know.)  She is to be part of an auction held at O’s school to raise money for their scholarship fund.  After she was finished and I got her ready to go, I just couldn’t part with her on those terms.  She had to have a name.  I kept the name Emma in my mind and asked my husband what name he thought of when he looked at her.  He immediately said “Emma”.  So, there you have it.  Emma, she is.

I feel a tad silly to admit it, but I felt a bit of grief when I dropped Emma off at the school that day.  Although I was sad to let her go, I realized part of why I felt so bereft is because I pour my heart into my dolls.  All of them.  And that’s a good thing.  Emma will find a family soon.  I hope when she does they know how special she truly is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2014 2:14 pm

    She is so lovely Carrie and I just love the sweater! I wouldn’t want to let her go to a stranger either!

    • April 9, 2014 9:20 am

      Thanks, Katie. The textured pattern on her sweater is called “quilted lattice”. There are lots of tutorials all over the internet. I first saw it on the Springtime in Hollis cardi I knitted for N (but didn’t use that pattern to make the doll sweater).

Thoughts?

