Skip to content

Timid Joy

January 21, 2014

31::365::51-54

I can’t quite explain it but I’m feeling a bit timid writing this post.  Maybe because this is all so new.  Or perhaps because this experience is so dear to my heart I feel as though I need to protect it.  Regardless, sometimes you just have to put it out there.  Here we are.  I’m making dolls.

I’m reading and experimenting and asking questions and learning so much.  I’m watching N while she plays with her doll, looking to see what needs improvement and what is already just right.  I’m talking to established doll-makers and to mothers and children.  Watching to see what some of us are drawn to and from what we shy away.  I’m learning my own preferences as far as how to work as well as what I want in a finished doll.  Most importantly, I’m relaxing into the process and taking my time.

Yes, there is a lot going on in this little studio room of mine, but it’s all so very good.

PS  If you saw this post pop up earlier today and then disappear that is because I mis-clicked and published before I was ready.  Whoops!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2014 6:05 pm

    Looking forward to reading more of what you are learning, and I really must do some more sewing on the doll I am supposed to be stitching.

  2. January 21, 2014 10:38 pm

    Pretty;exciting to be making something that most people have no clue how to make – including myself!

Thoughts?

