Skip to content

Handmade Holidays 2013

December 18, 2013

31::365::28-30

I’ve been trying to decide whether it would be best to share photos of our handmade gifts as they come or all together in one post.  Right now, in the flurry that is the week before Christmas, perhaps as they come might be best.

These little aprons are from Meg McElwee’s book, Sew Liberated.  I’ve made this apron for O once before, a couple of years ago.  It has been used nearly every day since.  I love the design, so functional for small hands!  If you look carefully you can see that O’s apron (on the right) has a left-handed belt and N’s apron (on the left) has a right-handed belt.  It’s those small details that can make all the difference between frustration and success for a little one, you know?

I was fortunate to find all the fabric I needed already in my stash.  The cutting and sewing probably took a total of three hours for both aprons.  (I have no idea if that is “good time” or not but it works for me!)  I’m already day-dreaming about making breakfast with my little loves in their new aprons on Christmas morning.  So sweet.

Candles have been rolled, photos have been printed, and ornaments have been made.  Tonight I’ll be assembling a knitted/felted brontosaurus.  Meanwhile, there is still a sock that longs for a mate and a hat that needs casting on.  Oh, my my…  ‘ tis the season of making!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 18, 2013 9:37 pm

    I love the floral print – so dainty! Sounds like you are busy, but isn’t it a good feeling? To know that you are making such goodness for your family instead of just ordering something with the click of a button. If you are still up late and need a break, I have holding a give-a-way contest on my blog until tomorrow morning. A chance to win some gift cards for a hard working mom. :)

Thoughts?

