Skip to content

Apple Everything

October 15, 2013

30::365::159-61

We went on our yearly apple picking trip a couple of weeks ago and came home with 60 lbs of apples.  At the time it seemed like a lot of apples, but now that everything is either eaten or put up for another day, I’m starting to wonder if we should try to squeeze in another trip.  Aside from the usual apple pie (only one due to an untimely oven breakdown), applesauce, and apple butter, we’ve found a new favorite, Apple Maple Jam.  Incredible.  So good, in fact, I made two batches two days in a row!

This was our first year canning and I must say that we’ve enjoyed it very much!  It is sometimes a lot of work (though less work after my mother-in-law let us borrow her apple peeler) but it isn’t difficult work.  Food preservation takes a bit of time and if you ask me many of us might benefit from an activity that doesn’t provide instant gratification.  Each time I look in our pantry, I can’t help but imagine how wonderful it will be some January or February morning to open up a jar of peach or apple jam for a taste of seasons past with our breakfast.

What is filling your pantry?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2013 9:03 pm

    I’m not a canner; that is my husband’s corner and he doesn’t have the time this year. So I have bags of frozen ice cube sized peach puree. Will be great for smoothies!

    • October 16, 2013 12:53 pm

      I wish I had freezer space for setting things aside that way. Maybe one day we’ll invest in a chest freezer. Peach puree smoothies sound good!

  2. October 16, 2013 10:44 am

    I am seeing so many apple picking photos from the Northern Hemisphere (I’m in Australia) and it all looks so lovely. I’m determined that next Autumn we will do this. The Apple Maple jam sounds amazing. I might have to try that one.

    • October 16, 2013 12:54 pm

      I had been searching everywhere for an apple jam recipe and was starting to think what I wanted didn’t exist! Then my husband’s aunt recommended this one. It really is delicious! Let me know what you think if you decide to try it!

Thoughts?

