Skip to content

Blanket Stitch

August 27, 2013

365::30::143-145

If you had asked me a few weeks ago whether or not O knew how to blanket stitch, I probably would have told you I didn’t know.  He hadn’t tried yet.  Or maybe in a more distracted moment, I might have simply answered “no”.

Last week, while I was making one of these Pocket Hearts for O’s cousin on her first day of school, O asked me if he could stitch as well.

Here’s the truth:  I didn’t expect him to be able to do it, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to let him try.  I gathered some supplies to match my own and provided him with a basic lesson in blanket stitch.

Then, before my very eyes, my boy that never misses a thing, sat next to me and quietly stitched a pocket heart of his own.

It was a satisfying afternoon project for both of us and also a good reminder for this mama to, if nothing else, let them try.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2013 12:48 pm

    Tell him it’s just lovely!

Trackbacks

  1. Mama Heart |
  2. In Progress: March |

Thoughts?

