Skip to content

On Gratitude

August 21, 2013

30::365::140,141

A good friend of ours got married a couple of weeks ago.  B and I desperately wanted to be there to celebrate with the couple as well as many friends we have not seen since our own wedding.  The wedding was a state or two away and try as we might, we just could not make the trip happen.  It was heartbreaking.  We miss our friends.  It made me wish I had actively appreciated them more when they were a part of our lives every day.

Then I started to think about the people that are a part of our lives every day, our children.  Sometimes, when N throws her entire lunch to the floor and not only makes a mess but breaks the plate as well, I feel less than gracious.  Other times, however, I feel so full of gratitude for these little people I think my heart could burst.

I’m not sure when it started, but O and I have a bit of a bedtime ritual.  Each night, when I kiss him, hug him, and tell him I love him, I also tell O thank you.  Many days it is a simple thank you for something small and seemingly mundane.  “Thank you for helping me make dinner today.”  Other days it is a little more exciting.  “Thank you for playing on the beach with me today.”  Regardless of what we’ve done that day, I always take a moment to feel a bit of gratitude, to recognize how very important these two little people truly are.  Saying the words aloud not only lets my children know how happy I am to spend my days with them, but it is an active reminder to myself as well.  Thank you.

PS  The blanket and candles are the wedding gifts sent to our friends in our place.  Knitterly details for the blanket can be found here.  The kids and I rolled the candles from sheets of beeswax.  (A great project, by the way!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2013 10:32 am

    Beautiful blanket! Love the color!

  2. August 23, 2013 2:42 am

    I love, love, love this! J says thank you to me about 15 times a day, for really random things (‘Thank you for letting me get my hair cut’, for instance). It always makes me feel so thankful for him!!

Thoughts?

