Skip to content

Glimpses: Mr. Lincoln

May 24, 2013

30::365::89

Please feel free to share your moments in the comments (as inspired by Soulemama).

Happy Weekending!
~Carrie

PS  I have aphids on my roses!  What to do!?!  I’ve been reading (and reading and reading some more) and just find myself full of conflicting information.  So far, I haven’t done much aside from manually removing them and spraying some garlicky water spiked with a little eco-friendly dish soap.  Companion planting, maybe?  Flowers that attract ladybugs, perhaps?  Oh, such a gardening noob…

PPS  Mr. Lincoln here.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    May 24, 2013 6:46 am

    I understand that Tomato Leaf spray is known to be effective against aphids.

  2. May 24, 2013 9:01 am

    beautiful rose. :)
    i would go get a bag of lady bugs. i don’t know if that would help, but it would be fun to release them.

    • May 24, 2013 7:12 pm

      I know ladybugs do eat aphids buuut I’ve read that buying them is often a waste of money as they’ll simply fly away (and eat the neighbor’s aphids instead). Ha! I do think it might be fun though.
      That’s why I was thinking of planting some flowers that attract ladybugs and other beneficial insects. Maybe some lovelies I could plant around the roses. There’s so much information out there though… and of course it’s kind of hit or miss with advice from gardener google, ya know? ;)

  3. May 24, 2013 9:43 am

    Just beautiful!

    Our moment this week is from our first trip to Southwick’s Zoo where we had the chance to feed and interact with deer! Something I have always wanted to do! It was such a magical experience!
    http://ouronesweetfamily.blogspot.com/2013/05/this-moment-in-deer-forrest.html

    I also wanted to share our moment from last week. Last weekend my girls had their first dance recital! What an amazing experience!
    http://ouronesweetfamily.blogspot.com/2013/05/this-moment-on-eve-of-their-first-dance.html

    Have a great weekend!

  4. May 24, 2013 11:57 am

    So lovely! Here is mine: http://www.daftlydomestic.com/?p=328

    It is the end of the first week of my new blog!

  5. May 26, 2013 6:47 am

    Visiting via Soule Mama -I love roses, yours is a beautiful colour – not sure about an aphid cure sorry.

    • May 26, 2013 11:43 am

      You know, though my method requires a lot of patience, I think it’s paying off. I mean, they aren’t gone but as of right now I’m not worried they’re going to take over either. ;) Thanks for stopping by!

Thoughts?

