Skip to content

How It’s Going…

August 24, 2012

I’ve had to gather a lot of courage to write this post.  Hopefully I’ll have enough left to publish it when I’m done.

Since last Fall, our little family has had a lot of big changes.  We bought a house.  We had a baby.  O turned three.  We planted a garden.  We planted roses.  We also slogged through a pretty severe case of  postpartum anxiety.

It isn’t often that anyone asks me how it’s going.  I suppose that’s because the whole subject tends to make people a little uncomfortable.  Either they don’t understand or the associated stigma is a bit much for them.  No matter the reason, this PPA can be a pretty lonely journey.  It’s difficult to talk about.  Partly because it’s painful.  Partly because  of the lack of understanding.  It seems that many people assume by now it surely must be over.  Gone.  Cured.  I wish this was true.

The truth is, I’m still pushing through (with the help of an excellent therapist).  In the meantime, there are the flowers, and baby toes, and all of you.  Thank you.

If you’ve stumbled on this blog due to an internet search for postpartum depression or anxiety, hello!  I hope reading about my experience is somehow helpful.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2012 7:58 pm

    I pray for you often, Sweetie. :)

  2. September 28, 2012 1:52 pm

    I missed so much during our transition, so am pretty late in reading this. But thank you for posting it, for being so honest <3 I hope that I can remember ot ask you how you are doing,or at least help to distract you in some way!
    xo!

Thoughts?

