Skip to content

Indigo Shorties

August 7, 2012

Remember this photo from May?

click photo for ravelry details

This photo was taken on a warm sunny day while my lovely friend L dipped her hands, along with some Gaia Organic Merino, into a beautiful blue-green  tub of indigo.  This experience of hand-dying yarn was a first for both of us.  So.Much.Fun.

click photo for ravelry details

Three months later (I know, I know!), I have knitted results and I’m thrilled!  We both are, I do believe.  We dyed enough yarn for both of our boys and I brought it all home to knit matching shorties.  (Gah!  I know!)

click photo for ravelry details

Seeing a project through from naked yarn to dying to knitting and finishing is incredibly satisfying!  Will there be more dying in the near future?  I’m not sure.  I am, however, enthralled by the process…  from fiber to garment, sheep to sweater.  Spinning to knitting.  Oh my, yes.

What have you been creating lately?  Please feel free to leave a link for all to see!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2012 12:13 am

    oh beautiful carrie. i love this. i’ve been knitting little bits here and there this summer. it is so relaxing. i just finished a little bunting for Cami’s room and I really think I need to venture out into baby booties. :)

  2. August 19, 2012 11:40 am

    loooove those longies! so stinkin’ adorable :)

Thoughts?

