Skip to content

Bits and Pieces

July 24, 2012

I have a long time friend about to have her first baby.  I’ve been meaning to send this mama a bundle of baby stuff for, well, weeks.  It’s not that I mean to put it off (I haven’t) or I’m dragging my feet getting it all together.  It’s just that, as I’m sure many of you know, mamas must do everything in bits and pieces.

Before I had children, I didn’t leave projects lying around unfinished.  It’s just not in my nature.  Once Baby O came along, I learned to break projects up into segments, mostly completed over the course of a few days during nap time.  Now that I am a mother of two, I’m learning to complete projects bit by bit, here and there, slowly but certainly.

At first, this method was kind of tough for me to get used to.  I would get anxious thinking about projects languishing away in my knitting bag or next to the sewing machine.  As I’ve been finding my rhythm in this life with multiple children, I’ve come to appreciate taking my time with a project, having the opportunity to really put a lot of thought and love into each handmade, little bit by little bit.

What are you currently working on?  Any long-term projects?

*Above:  Cute as a Button Booties, Handmade Beginnings, AMH

No comments yet

Thoughts?

