Skip to content

About the Roses…

July 16, 2012

I’d like to preface this post by admitting that I have no idea what I’m doing…

Home-ownership brings about all kinds of new experiences.  Fortunately, most of ours have been pleasant, if not at least humorous.

This little family of mine has been working hard to make our new house a home, both inside and out.  One thing I’ve discovered spending time out of doors this summer is that I love roses.  I adore them.  Growing them hasn’t been nearly the fuss I thought it might be and I quite enjoy the nurturing and maintenance required anyway.  Goodness knows, I certainly enjoy the rewards for my work!

We currently have two rose bushes.  (I think two is a good start for a beginner, don’t you?)  The bud pictured above is from our newest addition, Strawberry Hill, an english rose that smells as lovely as it is beautiful!

Our other lovely is Sunshine Daydream.  I couldn’t think of a more perfect name.  Dreamy, for sure!

A woman at our local nursery gave me a crash course in rose care yesterday, but I’d really like to learn more.  Do any of you grow roses?  Any tips?  Suggestions?  Books?

No comments yet

Thoughts?

