Skip to content

Sunshine Cardigan

June 26, 2012

Today N is six months old.  I simply cannot believe how quickly the time has gone by!  (So goes parenthood, right?)  Six months old is such a delightful age.  So curious and playful!  N is nearly crawling now and absolutely full of life.  She’s the happiest baby I’ve ever seen.  Truly the embodiment of sunshine, this sweet girl of mine.

What could be more fitting of a color for a sunshine Summertime cardigan than yellow?

click photo for ravelry details

I’ve knitted with cotton a few times and have had mixed results.  This little sunshine cardi was knitted with Lily Sugar’n Cream cotton.  I’ve always been drawn to the colors and when I saw these three, I could no longer resist.  I paid very little for the yarn ($6, I think?) and didn’t have high hopes for it, honestly.  I’m fairly certain this is the sort of yarn people make dish cloths from, not something I would think of swathing a baby in!

I’m happy to admit, I have been very pleasantly surprised!  This little cardi is holding up beautifully, even with machine washing and drying (which is kind of nice to be able to do with a hand-knit every now and then).  I even managed to successfully wash out a coffee stain after a very unfortunate incident while this was still a work-in-progress.  You can’t tell it was ever there, can you?

buttons from Peace Fleece bargain barrel about 2 yrs ago

It feels so good to be knitting again, even if it does take me a month to knit one little cardigan.  The pleasure is in the process, right?

It’s been awhile…  Please tell me what you have been working on!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    June 26, 2012 9:03 pm

    Very beautiful Carrie!♥

  2. June 27, 2012 1:14 am

    Adorable!

  3. July 17, 2012 8:22 pm

    Beautiful!

Thoughts?

