Skip to content

Tutorial: DIY Mobile

May 29, 2012

I’ve always loved the idea of a mobile for baby, but have always struggled to find one that I think a new baby might actually enjoy looking at (or the rest of us for that matter).  Something about cartoonish plush zoo animals just doesn’t do it for our family.

A while back, I read this inspiring post by Meg of Sew Liberated.  (That’s just one of many inspiring posts, I might add!)  Then when I bumped into the Kikkerland Mobile Photo Clip, the ideas just started rolling!  Oh, the possibilities!  I gathered some supplies and quickly got to work!  (The butterfly mobile featured here was created in an afternoon with a toddler at my side.  Easy Peasy!)

DIY Mobile:

Supplies:

  • Kikkerland Photo Clip Mobile or something similar
  • an object to trace (or make a template of your own)
  • laminating sheets
  • tissue paper
  • scissors
  • sharpie

Instructions:

  1. Peel the paper off the laminating sheet and place it sticky-side-up on the table.  Cover in tissue paper.  I crinkled mine a bit but you don’t want it to be so bunched up that the laminating sheets can’t lay flat.
  2. Peel the paper off a second laminating sheet and lay it carefully over the tissue paper.  I thought this was easiest if I lined up the edge first.
  3. Trace your object onto your laminated tissue paper.  (I was able to fit two butterflies per sheet of laminated tissue paper.)
  4. Repeat steps 2 & 3 as needed until you have as many tissue paper shapes as clips.
  5. Cut shapes from tissue paper and clip to mobile.
  6. Hang securely and enjoy!

I can’t tell you how much N adores her butterfly mobile!  The light shines through it in the morning and it’s just lovely!

This simple mobile could easily change with the seasons.  Leaves for Fall, Snowflakes for Winter, Flowers for Spring…

I’d love to hear some of your ideas!

PS  This as well as past tutorials can all be found in the sidebar for future reference!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 9:58 pm

    Beautiful! I made my sins mobile and a little poem to go with it, he still loves it!

  2. May 29, 2012 9:58 pm

    Oops, son’s, not sins!

  3. averagechildhood permalink
    May 29, 2012 10:55 pm

    I was wanting to make a mobile – thanks so much for listing the photoclip. The price is right and messing around with hangers was not working out for me!

  4. May 30, 2012 2:56 am

    I just found out I am pregnant and suddenly images of horrible plastic and Disney themes mobiles have filled my head. Thanks for this alternative! I aim to keep Disney out of our house for as long as possible!

Thoughts?

