Skip to content

Buddhism for Mothers: Worrying About Our Children

May 24, 2012

Oh, Worry!  You again!?!

My friends, here’s the truth…  I’m a worrier.  Part of the spiritual work I have been doing since becoming pregnant with O is learning to tame my needless worrying.  Of course all mothers worry a little bit, but for some of us it can start to interfere with our happiness, mentally pull us away from our families.    Focusing on a mindful existence is definitely one way to affectively lessen the amount of time we spend with worry.  A present mother is not a mother distracted with fearful thoughts.  I found the list of What We Can Do at the end of this chapter to be especially helpful.  Although many of these suggestions are practices I already try to implement in my daily life, I find it helpful to have them there on the page, listed before me.

Oh, interestingly enough, (and sort of related), I’ve found I do worry a little bit less with my second baby than I did with my first.  It’s not that I care any less at all…  It’s more of a We‘ve been here before and know it’s nothing to get in a fuss about kind of approach.  It’s rather a relief, actually.

What are your thoughts on this chapter?  How do you keep from being wrought with worry?

PS  My apologies for the late post this week.

PPS  For anyone following along or just finding these posts, it’s certainly not too late to join us!

PPPS  Does anyone want to talk about my roses???  We have nine (9!) open blooms right now.  They are called Sunshine Daydream.  So incredibly beautiful!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2012 9:47 pm

    I, personally, think the photo is amazing. :)

  2. May 24, 2012 10:50 pm

    I found this chapter very helpful. Worry stopped me from enjoying a lot of the first 6 months of my sons life and definitely led to not breast feeding as long as I’d hoped. I also found the what we can do section very helpful, I plan to photocopy it and put it somewhere I can see it. Journaling has been a very big help, but I’ve found that it is hard to continue with it once I start felling better. I’m hoping to make it more of a habit. In other news, your roses are gorgeous. My first dahlia of the season bloomed and it’s so exciting!

  3. nancy permalink
    May 24, 2012 11:25 pm

    The roses are so very very beautiful! I should just look at those when I start to worry, they are calming! This chapter was a good one yet again! It would have been very helpful when I was pregnant with my second son! For me the second pregnancy and birth was a bit more worrisome than my first! I especially enjoyed the “what are you clinging to” section! Maybe becase it hits close to my heart with my older son!
    I have some wild flowers in one of our pots sprouting up and we are getting very excited to see what they look like!

  4. Michelle permalink
    May 25, 2012 8:44 pm

    Wow Carrie, this post surely hit the nail on the head. I have been prone to worry since birth. My kindergarten teacher told my mother I’d have gray hair before I was thirty! That’s how much I worried at 5. Well, now that I’ve had my second, I worry all the time. I need to read this book. Thank you for the post. I hope to have this from the library soon to join in!

Trackbacks

  1. About the Roses… «

Thoughts?

