Skip to content

Purple Pixie Pants

March 28, 2012

 Before N was born, I could easily whip up a pair of newborn longies in three days.  Now that I’m caring for both a baby and a toddler, this particular pair of  longies took me a couple of weeks to knit.

Having two small children isn’t nearly as chaotic as I thought it might be, but we are still finding our rhythm.  That’s just the beauty of it though, the rhythm of family life is always changing.  Some days the change is more subtle than others but it’s always there, growing and developing just as our family grows and develops.

click on photo for ravelry details and modifications

The recent warm weather has us all outside and mama thinking of Spring knitting projects.  I have a cotton pilot cap in mind for N, made from the same cotton as the sweater she’s wearing in these photos.  I’m also excited about the Molly Bubble Romper that is no doubt in our future.

 click photo for ravelry details and mods

For O, I have an extra special project in mind.  His days of longies and shorties are quickly winding down.  For what may well be his last pair of shorties (tear), a friend and I will be hand-dying yarn with indigo.

Have any of you done this before?  Any tips for a couple of first-timers?

The yarn used for N’s Purple Pixie Pants was gifted to us by Shelly.  Thank you, Shelly!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. affectioknit permalink
    March 28, 2012 10:24 am

    Lovely longies…years ago I dyed some yarn with indigo…I used the instructions in the Joy of Spinning…http://www.amazon.com/The-Joy-Spinning-Complete-Handspinning/dp/B001UDI7CO/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1332944604&sr=1-2
    …best wishes!

  2. March 28, 2012 11:17 am

    They are so cute, especially paired with that gorgeous sweater! :) You are very welcome. I am glad you put it to such good use. :) I hope to make the Molly Bubble Romper someday – I’d better do it this year, I guess… Would you use it as a soaker?

    Switching from one kid to two isn’t like doubling the work load, it is more like quadrupling! Everything changes and the whole home has to find a new pattern of operations. But before you know it, it will all be easy and normal. :) Just keep adding to the family – adding baby number six was *so easy*! Ha! :)

    • March 28, 2012 4:37 pm

      In my mind I intend to use it as a soaker. I’ve even thought of knitting the top in cotton (maybe linen?), to keep that section cool for warm weather wear while still using wool for the bottom/soaker part. What do you think?

      And yes, quadruple, indeed! I cannot believe the amount of laundry to be done each day, especially with two in cloth. Oy. ;)

      • March 28, 2012 9:31 pm

        I have tried to figure out how to make the bottom a soaker and the top light enough for summer, but I haven’t come up with anything genius. If you do the top in linen or cotton, will it wick? And how do you get it to match? Can you mix yarns like that? I should look on Rav – surely someone has done it already. I think were I to finally do it, I would just do it all in wool and call it good. Actually, I have thought about designing a pattern like that with fingering weight on the top and worsted on the bottom. Can’t wait to see what you do.

      • March 31, 2012 10:55 pm

        I keep trying to reply with no luck… one more time!

        I don’t think wicking would be a problem. It looks like the bottom/soaker part would come up high enough so it wouldn’t be a concern. I know wool is fine year round, that’s part of why it’s so amazing. Cotton tends to just absorb and get heavy but feels more like a “summer fiber”. Linen would probably be better since it doesn’t “stick” like cotton. I would also worry about cotton and linen losing shape. Perhaps I should just invent a wool and linen blend! ;)
        (Of course you can mix yarns however you want! It is *your* knitting, after all! ;) )

  3. Rebecca permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:05 pm

    I love the longies but am appreciating that photo of your girl even more. She looks so strong for her age! Congrats on surviving these past months. She sure looks like a wonderful gift in this hard time for you.

    • March 28, 2012 4:40 pm

      Thank you, Rebecca. She certainly is a wonderful blessing.♥
      (She is quite strong! I bet you can imagine what those end of pregnancy kicks were like!) ;)

Thoughts?

