Skip to content

Living Fully, Digging Deeper

March 13, 2012

When I read about Taproot Magazine a few weeks ago on Amanda’s blog, I won’t lie, I got pretty darn excited!  I had every intention of mentioning it to B and getting a subscription for us.  Imagine my delight when a copy of the first issue, Soil, just appeared in our mailbox as if by magic (courtesy of Nova Natural)!

In her editor’s letter, Amanda Blake Soule says a revolution is happening, not in the streets but in our homes.  I couldn’t agree more!  All around me I see people learning skills that have been “lost”, becoming more resourceful, and focusing on togetherness for both family and community. This magazine is a visual treat as well as a good read.  I particularly enjoyed “Healthy Soils, Strong Girls” in addition to the articles on chickens/eggs.  (I desperately want some backyard chickens, but that is another post.)  B was rather enchanted by the articles and illustrations on soil.  Needless to say, we’ll be subscribing!

Has anyone else gotten their hands on a copy?  What do you think???

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 10:45 am

    I got a free issue through Nova Naturals, also. I haven’t had a chance to actually read it yet, but it is so gorgeous! In this world of digital everything, a real, live magazine is such a treat. I am saving it for my next soak in the tub. :)

  2. Tails permalink
    March 15, 2012 3:20 pm

    I’m going to look into it. About the chickens, does your city allow chickens? I know in Portland you are allowed to have rabbits, chickens (no rooster) and even goats within city limits!! This city really pushes for self sustainability and urban farming. I believe that’s some of the change within the household you mentioned. If more people would get away from plastics and into naturals we might be ok in the next 50 years!

    • March 16, 2012 12:12 pm

      Goats!? Love it!
      I’m not certain whether our city will allow the chickens but if not, I’d say it’s something worth changing! As much as I want them, it will probably wait ’til next year so we can focus on the raised beds this year. (A little bit at a time, right?)
      We’ve really enjoyed learning about “urban homesteading” and now that we own, we’re looking forward to learning even more!

  3. March 16, 2012 5:34 am

    I bought a subscription for this immediately! I’m excited to see it in my mailbox, although I think it’s basically a magazine about my older German neighbor ;)

Thoughts?

