Skip to content

Hello Old Friend

February 21, 2012

I can’t really say it’s nice to see you again…  but it certainly is familiar.

Once again, I’ve found myself pumping breast milk for my babe, often in some pretty strange circumstances.  In an ER with pancreatitis, gastritis, and an IV in the very crook of my elbow.  An unpleasant experience indeed.  Yet, I was grateful to have a way to provide my baby with milk when I couldn’t be with her.

The other day while our postpartum doula was here to help with nursing, I told her I wasn’t sure whether it would be more appropriate to memorialize the pump or light it on fire when we’re done with it.  Such mixed feelings about that little machine that assists in the care of my babies while perhaps also undermining our nursing relationship just a bit as well.  (The pumped milk does, after all, end up in a bottle.)

Having a way to provide milk while apart is a wonderful thing.  Pumping milk while I’m at home and then feeding it with bottle, however, feels just the opposite of wonderful.  Where this journey will take us, I don’t know.  What I do know is that re-learning how to nurse is far more difficult than the initial learning for everyone involved.  I also know that I have one very healthy and happy baby girl!

Previous posts on exclusive pumping and thoughts on nursing can be found here, here, here, and here.

PS  Do some more experienced mamas out there have any advice for re-learning to nurse?  Please share!  I’m happy to listen!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. michelle permalink
    February 21, 2012 9:21 pm

    First off, you’re awesome :) but with my babies I went back to work very fast and they ended up with a bottle more than the breast and it was a challenge being able to actually nurse when I was with them, but I offered a lot and tried to deny the bottle as long as possible if they were denying the breast

  2. February 21, 2012 10:06 pm

    Oh, Sweetie! My heart weeps for you! I know what you are going through for I have been there once and I don’t know that I could do it again. I pray that this will be temporary and you will have your hearts desire. ((Hugs))

Thoughts?

