Skip to content

Perspective

January 19, 2012

I wish I wasn’t writing this right now, but here it goes… I’m back in the hospital battling an awful mysterious GI issue. When I was discharged from the hospital, I knew I wasn’t physically ready but I missed my family so desperately I went home anyway. Lesson learned. I’m starting to feel exhausted by this whole process. I’m also learning a few things and gaining some perspective…

I’m incredibly lucky to have friends and family to love and care for me and my family during this difficult time.

Nurses are everyday heroes. I’ve been met with so much kindness (and patience). I met a woman today willing to go above and beyond to help me continue to provide my baby with breastmilk, including drive my pumped breastmilk to my home after her shift. I’m overwhelmed by this kindness and just the humanity of it all.

I’ve learned how absolutely devoted to breastfeeding I really am. I’ve been toting around a manual pump in my purse and through ER visits, pancreatitis, dehydration, gastritis, a liquid diet, and all the consequntial anxiety, I kept pumping. I’m still pumping. I don’t intend to EP again but I do intend to breastfeed. (Baby N latches like a pro! Hooray!)
:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 4:39 pm

    Yay for good latching on! I’ve been praying for you every day. <3

  2. January 19, 2012 4:44 pm

    Holy cow, I can’t believe you’re still pumping! I’m hoping this stomache thing goes away asap!

  3. January 20, 2012 12:27 am

    Oh you poor thing, I’ll pray for continued healing. I’m impressed that you are pumping in the midst of all this. Sounds like such wonderful care, and what a sweet nurse!!

  4. January 20, 2012 8:24 pm

    Oh Carrie I am sorry to hear you are back in the hospital. Sending get well vibes your way for a full recovery so you can go home to your babies!

Trackbacks

  1. New Baby Knits «

Thoughts?

