Skip to content

Kid Art: Apple Painting

November 2, 2011

It’s starting to get pretty chilly in this part of the US but there are still plenty of Autumn apples to be had!  Our yearly apple picking excursion was a few weeks ago.  I thought all of our apples had long since been eaten, but just the other day I discovered one lone apple in the bottom of the cupboard.  What better to do than paint with it?

This is a simple art activity that I’m sure a lot of us remember from our own childhoods.  The basic idea is (for an adult) to cut the apple in half width-wise and then (for everyone) to use it as a stamp to get a star-shaped cut out in the center of the print.  As you can see in the photo above, star-shaped isn’t exactly what we got.  (However, some of the prints were rather flower-like!)

No matter though.  Not feeling at all bound by the way things “should” turn out, or for that matter caring about the finished product at all, O discovered plenty of ways to create with his newly found tools, including painting the apple itself.

More on process oriented art and little ones here.

Has your family created any seasonal art lately?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 10:29 pm

    We have been creating, I have a big craft fair this weekend, but I think after its over I’ll get into the routine of sharing what we’ve been up to. I’m glad your back online Carrie. :)

    • November 3, 2011 7:40 pm

      Thanks Erin! I keep meaning to send you a message (privately). I hope all is well and have a great time at the craft fair!♥

Thoughts?