Skip to content

Handmade Halloween 2011

October 26, 2011

Becoming parents has given me and B countless opportunities to look at all kinds of things with a new perspective, holidays are no exception.  Last year I wrote about how parenthood has given particular holidays new life, especially Halloween.  Approaching this time of year as a festive time to seek light and warmth rather than a time of darkness and fear is oh-so-appealing to this mama!  We speak not of creepy crawlies, goblins and ghosts, or things that go bump in the night.  Instead, we focus on warm cider, pumpkin everything, and enjoying a favorite season that flees all too quickly.


click photo for ravelry details and photos

As I mentioned last year, I feel it is important to pick Halloween costumes that send a positive message to the child.  As our son practices more and more imitation in his play, I’m beginning to see how important this truly is.  Not caring to make (or purchase!) anything to have merely a single night of use, I also love to take full advantage of the opportunity to create a costume for O that will continue to serve him in a variety of ways.  This year’s costume, the frog prince, is made entirely of components that he can continue to wear in daily life or use in play long after Halloween has passed.  The knitted hat and felt crown you see above will easily be disassembled after Halloween.  I’ll then sew elastic into the crown for play and the hat can be worn (with its matching mittens) throughout the rest of the Fall and Winter seasons.  Hooray!

What handmade costumes has your family created this year?

Notes:

  • Click photo above for more costume and knitting details (visible to all).
  • See O’s Baby Bumble costume from last year here.  I so hope this fits Baby N next year!♥
  • The tutorial for making felt play crowns can be found here.  (linked in right sidebar)
7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 7:51 am

    What a great idea!! I LOVE the hat :)

  2. Michelle permalink
    October 26, 2011 1:08 pm

    I love this – you are so amazing! I hope you are feeling well. I’m due in 4 weeks and feeling much more sluggish the 2nd time around.

    • November 3, 2011 7:42 pm

      Thank you, Michelle! I hope you are also feeling well (and I totally know what you mean about feeling more sluggish the 2nd time around)! Take Care!

  3. November 2, 2011 10:32 pm

    Love the hat Carrie. Guess what, my little sister (who knits and crochets) is going to start teaching me the basics of knitting. We have set a little sister time aside each week and I’m really excited about it. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Halloween 2011 «
  2. ’tis the Season of Critter Hats |

Thoughts?

