Skip to content

Owl Snuggle Sack, Hat, & Booties

August 31, 2011

O was born very near to the Summer Solstice.  Baby N will be born near the Winter Solstice.  A boy and a girl.  Summer and Winter.  I can’t help but think what wonderful balance for our family!

click photo for ravelry details and modifications

A baby born on the cusp of Winter will, of course, need plenty of mama-made knits to keep her warm and cozy.  A super soft snuggle sack is a nice place to start…

click photo for ravelry details (hat & booties)

A matching hat and booties?  Yes, I think so!

click photo for ravelry details and mods

Slight modifications to allow for wiggle room and growth?  Absolutely!

What have you been working on?  Any wintry weather woollies?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 8:03 am

    So sweet!

    I haven’t gotten to working on anything yet (although I did finish writing another YA novel a couple of days ago!), but I’m excited for the step toward that I’ll take this weekend. A friend’s going to be giving me my first lesson in knitting. I’m extremely slow to learn new tasks that require any kind of physical coordination, but if I’m patient, I get there in the end. *cheer*

  2. August 31, 2011 10:56 am

    So beautiful! I just keep having summer babies…. :)

  3. Carla permalink
    August 31, 2011 11:31 am

    I had a winter baby and it was so much fun. Especially because when they are tiny all the want is to be bundled and snuggled – so cozy when it’s cold outside! This set is absolutely gorgeous. I have my first knitting lesson soon and I am determined to make my little one a sweater.

  4. August 31, 2011 2:14 pm

    SO SO beautiful Carrie!

  5. September 30, 2011 2:26 pm

    I love the sleep sack. I am also expecting a baby around winter solstice and have been wanting to get around to making something like a bunting. I didn’t know what would be a more practical solution as I am afraid of him outgrowing it quickly. Although I will probably only use if for around 6 months. Nice blog.

Thoughts?

