Skip to content

L’s Macaroni and Cheese

August 30, 2011

A few week’s ago we enjoyed the most delicious macaroni and cheese at my in-laws house.  I asked my mother-in-law for the recipe and it has been stashed in my knitting bag ever since.  (What?  Isn’t that where you keep recipes?)

Due to Hurricane Irene sweeping up much of the east coast, we had a rather cool day this past Sunday.  A perfect day for homemade macaroni and cheese!

Here is the recipe as I made it (pretty close to the original).

L’s Macaroni and Cheese

  • 3 Tbs Butter
  • 2 Tbs Flour
  • a bit of Onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp Dry Mustard
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • Pepper, to taste
  • 2 1/2 C Milk
  • 1 C Swiss Cheese, shredded (be generous)
  • 1 C Cheddar Cheese, shredded (be generous)
  • 2 C Elbows (dry)
  • Crackers, crushed and cooked in a bit of butter (optional)
  1. Melt butter in a pan and add flour.  Cook onion ’til softened and add dry mustard, salt, pepper, and milk.  I let this heat on low while I cooked the macaroni and shredded the cheese.
  2. Stir in cheese and drain macaroni.
  3. Mix cheese mixture and macaroni in an oven-safe dish and top with crackers (if using them).
  4. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until top has reached desired crispness.
  5. Enjoy!

Notes:

  • L is not my mother-in-law but a family friend.
  • For the onion, I used a small one from our garden.  Use however much suits your taste.
  • I didn’t actually add the crackers to the top this time (I forgot!), but I do think it’s a great idea!
  • I’d say this recipe feeds 4-6 people depending on various appetites and whether you have anything with it.  (We had applesauce and homemade bread.)
One Comment leave one →
  1. jess permalink
    August 31, 2011 9:18 pm

    Definitely bookmarking this for a cold day. Dry mustard…I never would have thought of that.

Thoughts?

