Skip to content

Lessons Learned While Knitting Longies

June 15, 2011

Every time I knit a pair of longies I learn a little something more about knitting.

O’s 2nd birthday longies
click photo for ravelry details

It isn’t always a mind-blowing new technique but usually just a small something or other that helps me become a better knitter in the future.

A few lessons learned while knitting longies:

  • Short rows are a thing of genius and essential for a good fit.
  • Go down one or two needle sizes for the waistband.
  • Go down one needle size for seed stitch cuffs.
  • Knit one round in contrast color before changing needle size and beginning seed stitch pattern.
  • Kitchener stitch~  Love it!
  • Extended gusset + picking up extra stitches along gusset = wider leg
  • Weaving in ends as you go saves a lot of finishing work at the end of a project!
  • I don’t enjoy knitting i-cord but I do love the results!

What are some things you have learned while knitting?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    June 16, 2011 9:06 am

    Wow, the weaving in ends is just genius! Amazing – I’m almost done with my surprise sweater and there’s SO much finishing work to do! I wish I’d done this before!

    You rock! Where do you get this longies pattern?

  2. Michelle permalink
    June 20, 2011 1:23 pm

    Hi! I have another question for you. Your blog is really a source of inspiration for me. I’ve even started learning to sew (love Meg’s Sew Liberated books!!!) since seeing your version of Meg’s apron. I’m doing more sewing now, but find my machine has limitations. Yet, I’m not advanced enough to merit a major expensive upgrade. What kind of machine are you using, and how do you feel about it?

    • June 21, 2011 6:54 pm

      Hi Michelle,
      Thank you for your kind words. :)
      I’m using a Singer 5050 that is a hand-me-down and at least a decade old. ;) While I hope to one day have something a bit more fancy, I don’t have any complaints about the machine I have. It does have it’s limits but it has taken everything I’ve thrown at it and held up beautifully! It seems to me that most projects can be accomplished, one way or another, on relatively simple machines. For example, my machine does not have a serger… When necessary, I use a zigzag stitch instead.
      I did manage to find my machine on the Singer website if you’d like to see what I’m working with:
      http://www.singerco.com/products/80/5050
      I’m glad to hear from you again and would love to know what projects you’ve been working on!
      ~Carrie
      PS I’m itching to get my hands on Meg’s new book, Growing Up Sew Liberated. It looks brilliant! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Knit your heart out | Happy girl go

Thoughts?

