Skip to content

Play Food: Berry Pie

June 13, 2011

One particularly lovely thing about watching our boy grow from a baby to a toddler has been watching him develop into his own person and begin to express his (sometimes very clear) preferences.

click photo for ravelry details

In the last few weeks, we’ve learned that O loves blueberries just as much as his mama.  How does he especially love them?  In pie, of course!  Therefore, it is only appropriate that he have a slice o’ pie for his play kitchen!

click photo for ravelry details

The thing about this slice o’ blueberry (or cherry) pie is that I’m not sure if it’s one of the most fantastic things I’ve ever created or one of the most ridiculous.  Possibly both.  This really is a large slice of pie, about half the size of a real (whole) pie.  A bit bigger than I was expecting for sure, but it’s perfectly fine for play and most certainly good for comic relief!

I’m starting to wonder if making play food should come with a warning.  It may very well be addictive.  Last night I even found myself dreaming about knitted cupcakes, complete with cupcake liners!
Oh my my…

Pattern can be found here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Intisar permalink
    June 13, 2011 11:09 am

    Thought of you when I saw this!
    http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/chocolate-pie-ice-cream?michaels_content=1

  2. June 13, 2011 1:32 pm

    I don’t know about everything else you’ve created, so I can’t comment on the comparison–but this is fantastic, not ridiculous!

  3. June 14, 2011 9:57 am

    I love this it’s so cute… I want to knit some food too for my little guy, who I hope will get a play kitchen for Christmas. You did a great job.

Thoughts?

