Skip to content

Tutorial: Felt Crowns

May 26, 2011

Often referred to as “birthday crowns”, felt crowns are a wonderful way to facilitate endless imaginative play for small children.  These little crowns can be as simple or ornate as you like.  They are relatively easy to make and only require a few materials.

Felt Crowns

Materials:

  • felt (2 pieces per crown, back/front)
  • sewing notions for either machine or hand sewing
  • coordinating thread
  • embroidery floss, buttons, etc for decorating
  • elastic* (6″ or so per crown)
  • “disappearing ink” pen
  • sewing pins

Instructions:

  1. Begin by creating a template.  To make mine I simply drew a pattern I liked the same width as my felt.  (I believe the felt I used is 12″ wide.)
  2. Trace the template onto your felt and then cut out the pattern.  I cut both my front and back pieces at the same time to be sure they are exactly the same size and shape.
  3. Decorate the front of your crown however you wish.
  4. Pin the front of your crown to the back, wrong sides together.  Pin the elastic between the front and back on one side and begin sewing along the edges.  (I like to use a zig zag stitch on my machine.)  When you get to the other side of the crown, be sure to place the other edge of the elastic before sewing it closed.  I also like to add a couple of extra stitches over the elastic ends to make sure they’re secure.
  5. Trim ends and blot away disappearing ink.

Enjoy!
~Carrie

*About using elastic…  I know many crowns are made with ribbon instead of elastic.  I prefer to use the elastic because then the child has the opportunity to more easily put on and remove the crown him or herself.  You can certainly use ribbon in its place, if that is your preference.

**One more thing, please be sure any buttons, other decorations, and elastic are all very securely attatched before giving the crown to a child.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. carrie permalink
    May 28, 2011 10:15 pm

    Very cute! I especially love the sun embroidery motif crown.

  2. Lindsey permalink
    May 29, 2011 10:06 am

    Very cute! These would be cute for a birthday or every day dress up! :-)

  3. Shanea permalink
    May 31, 2011 5:56 pm

    Cute! I should make a few to donate to my son’s preschool.

  4. May 31, 2011 7:22 pm

    Love them Carrie. I made the kids theirs. Noah wore his for his second birthday and looked so adorable. I love the elastic because both of them love to play dress up with them, and you are right, its easy for them to take on and off.

  5. June 1, 2011 1:23 am

    These felt crowns are awesome. I want to try and make one for my daughter’s birthday in July!!
    Thank you for the tutorial.

    zippieee@msn.com

  6. June 13, 2011 6:21 am

    Love this tutorial I have just finished 12 for my grandaughters 1st birthday in July. Thankyou

  7. Sheryl permalink
    December 24, 2011 1:53 am

    I just made a couple of these for my girls for Christmas. My kids are addicted to dress up and who doesn’t love a pretty princess crown? I am so pleased with how they turned out, thanks for this tutorial!! I’ll definitely be keeping this in my back pocket for thrifty gifts and party favors.

Trackbacks

  1. Felt Crowns II «
  2. Handmade Halloween 2011 «
  3. Handmade for Her «

Thoughts?

