Skip to content

The Learning Tower: Review Part II

May 12, 2011

Friday night pizza is a pretty big deal in our home.  We look forward to it all week long.  It’s such fun to discuss just how we want our crust, which toppings we’ll have, if we should try a different kind of cheese or a new sauce recipe.

The Learning Tower is instrumental to the success of pizza night.  With the help of his “towa”, O is able to participate in nearly all aspects of our pizza creation.  His favorite part is kneading, patting, and rolling the dough!

Pizza Night begins with everyone washing their hands at the sink with the help of mama or papa to regulate water temperature (and usage).  Then we move the tower over to the counter to make our pizza.  With the floor of the tower in the second notches from the top, it is the perfect height for O to reach everything while still allowing the top edge of the tower to be high enough to keep O safe, unlike a chair or step stool that he could unintentionally step or fall off.  Then while our dinner bakes, O thinks it is great fun to help clean up!

Although our Learning Tower generally stays in the same spot in our kitchen, it is lightweight enough so that moving it to the sink and back isn’t a big deal.  It is not, however, so lightweight that O can move it himself.  It is a rather large object but the simplicity of the design prevents it from taking up too much space (and we have a rather small kitchen).  The tower has a clear finish, protecting it from inevitable spills and splashes.  Oftentimes while we’re working at the sink we drape a towel over the floor of the tower to prevent O from slipping.  (He never has.)  We use our Learning Tower several times a day, everyday.  I can honestly say it has changed the way we live.  I don’t know what we’d do without it!

As I said last week, I’m thrilled to be offering you this review and give-away series!  I hope to see you all next week for the give-away!  Are you as excited as I am!?
See you then!
~Carrie

Notes:

  • The Learning Tower website can be found here.
  • If you missed part I of our review, please find it here.
  • O’s “little helper apron” is blogged about here.
  • We like an adapted version of the Joy of Cooking pizza dough recipe.  You can find the original here.  We use honey to sweeten and replace 1/3-1/2 of the total flour with whole wheat.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    May 12, 2011 8:04 am

    Eeeeek! I’m so excited about this review!!! (and, I think I forgot to mention it before, but I LOVE that apron! I should make them for all three of the kids!)

  2. May 12, 2011 8:35 am

    I’ve wanted a Learning Tower for my kids since my middle son was about one. Sadly, they just cost way too much for us (and we aren’t handy enough to build our own). I’m very glad that yours has worked out so well for you. I know my little guys adore helping in the kitchen as well.

    • May 16, 2011 2:17 pm

      Have you tried Craigslist, Melissa? I know many families have found one that way.

      • May 17, 2011 8:26 am

        I’m forever looking at craigslist for things. Sadly, I’ve never seen one listed (we aren’t that big of a city). I’m always looking, though! (:

  3. Katie permalink
    May 12, 2011 10:08 am

    I’m so seriously excited about this one, Carrie. If we don’t win one I’m going to buckle down and just order one for Dster and new baby. Perhaps it will encourage me to get my KA fixed so Dorian and I can do some baking :D

    • May 16, 2011 2:19 pm

      You should absolutely get your KA fixed! My goodness, how do you live without it??? ;) And I don’t think you’d be sorry if you ordered D and new baby a tower… They’re even designed to hold up to two children. :)

  4. May 12, 2011 4:59 pm

    I’m really excited for this giveaway!! Thanks for the great, fun review of it! It’s nice to read such a positive experience with it! :)

  5. Shanea permalink
    May 12, 2011 5:58 pm

    Yay! Aren’t they the best? Sometimes you can find them on Craigslist too. NIce review.

  6. May 17, 2011 11:55 am

    I’m excited, I was actually thinking about this the other day. I haven’t had as much access to the internet & I was hoping you hadn’t done the actual giveaway yet. Yay!

  7. May 18, 2011 2:15 pm

    We love making pizza also! My son’s second favorite is decorating cookies.

  8. Dani Dingman permalink
    May 18, 2011 3:40 pm

    I just read part two of your review of The Learning Tower and LOVE it! We too do Friday night pizza!!! I even have the same marble rolling pin! :) That apron is too sweet for words!

  9. G Bailey permalink
    May 18, 2011 5:28 pm

    This is a great “tool”.

  10. May 22, 2011 2:26 am

    WOW, love seeing it in action. I am so excited for this giveaway.. I really want to win.

  11. May 30, 2011 11:15 pm

    We do pizza twice a week and my little guy LOVES kneading the dough. Makes my job all the easier, too!

  12. June 1, 2011 1:13 am

    I love how O says “Towa” !! This is an awesome functioning piece of furniture. Again…we would love it. Also, that pizza looked soooooo good!! Yummy!

Trackbacks

  1. Linky Love «
  2. Give-Away: Little Partners Learning Tower «

Thoughts?

