Skip to content

The Learning Tower: Review Part I

May 4, 2011

As part of our parenting philosophy, B and I make it a point to create a home that is inclusive of all it’s members.  One way we do this is by appropriately modifying the environment to meet our son’s current developmental needs. Sometimes modifying our environment is as simple as gathering some items we already have or moving a few pieces of furniture around.  Other times, it helps to have a product specifically designed to help us meet our goals.

We spend a lot of time in the kitchen.  That time is much more happily spent if we are all interacting and doing togetherThe Little Partners Learning Tower is designed to provide a safe way for smaller members of the family to experience the world at an adult level.  Giving children the opportunity to view the world from an adult perspective allows them to more effectively learn about and interact with their environment.

Our first impressions of The Learning Tower?
Well, to say this product has changed our lives would not be an understatement!  We all love it!  O is nearly two(!) now and imitating everything we do, especially our day-to-day household activities.  Including him in our daily activities is not only an enjoyable way to get things accomplished, but also a great learning opportunity for everyone involved as well as a wonderful way to boost our son’s self-esteem.

The construction of  The Learning Tower is absolutely sturdy and very intuitively designed.  Assembly is quite simple and takes just a few minutes.  B and I have found the floor of the tower to quickly and easily adjust to accommodate O’s height with plenty of room to grow.  The shape of the tower is aesthetically pleasing as well.  Our tower is the “natural” wood and it is honestly quite lovely to behold.

O has easily been able to independently climb in and out of The Learning Tower from day one.  Imagine his delight!

Some of our favorite ways to use The Learning Tower:

  • crafting
  • washing hands
  • helping mama do the laundry
  • climbing up and down, just for fun
  • playing in the sink (aka “washing dishes”)
  • use as an open-ended play thing (play stand)
  • getting a better view out of the window to watch the bird feeder
  • mama sometimes uses the tower “floor” for a photo background
  • cooking and baking in the kitchen
    O helps prepare nearly all of our meals in his tower.  He has a standing date with his papa every morning for breakfast, every Friday for pizza, and every Saturday for granola bars!

I’m thrilled to be able to bring you this Review & Give-Away series.  I hope you’ll join us next week for the second part of our review.

See you then!
~Carrie

Disclosure:  Please note, although an honest review, this review is based on a free product sample provided to the author.  No other compensation has been received for this review.

all images courtesy of littlepartners.com

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 4:34 pm

    Love it! I remember several months ago when you posted on FB asking about the Learning Tower & I’m glad to hear it’s held up to your expectations! :)

  2. May 4, 2011 4:42 pm

    I’m so excited to read your thoughts on this. I am thinking about making our very own, but I would love the real thing as well! :)

  3. Andrea permalink
    May 4, 2011 6:29 pm

    I know a little 2 year old that would LOVE this. She has a little step stool and knows how to use it, but she’s managed to fall off of it quite a few times too. This is precious. I like your perspective on incorporating little ones into daily activities. This is such a ripe time as my daughter WANTS SO BADLY to be involved in all that we do, but it is hard to find safe ways to do that.

  4. May 4, 2011 6:36 pm

    I’m so glad you posted this! A grandma at a seder I attended the weekend before last pointed her grandson’s Learning Tower out to me. She highly, highly recommended it as a way to get Li’l D even more involved in the kitchen and elsewhere. I said I’d be sure to look into it . . . then–surprise!–instantly forgot. Time to get on this!

  5. May 5, 2011 7:20 am

    w’s 2nd bday is approaching, too….and I am really hoping to get one of these for his big day. thanks for the honest review…were did you purchase it? xooxox

  6. May 6, 2011 4:16 pm

    We don’t have a tower, but we do have a well-loved stool. You’ll find my two-year-old propped up there during every meal prep. He happily “helps” and munches away on bits and pieces of dinner in progress. So glad to have him in there with me!

  7. May 6, 2011 4:44 pm

    Good to hear about this. I’ve been torn about getting one, wondering its worth it. I saw one at my mom’s favorite consignment shop for only $75.00. I didn’t snatch it, but I wish I did. I hope that its still there next week when I’m back in her area.

  8. May 18, 2011 2:09 pm

    Great list! I am sure I could think of many more things to do with it. Also cool they have the chalk board & puppet theater sets to go with.

  9. May 22, 2011 2:23 am

    this tower is so versatile… I love it.

  10. May 30, 2011 11:12 pm

    Thank you for mentioning that it’s sturdy. My little guy is incredibly bouncy, so this is a very important aspect when I look for a product like this.

  11. Shanea permalink
    May 31, 2011 5:54 pm

    I love that it feels substantial and can hold so many pounds!

  12. June 1, 2011 1:10 am

    I think this sounds awesome. My daughter would love it…and so would I!!

Trackbacks

  1. The Learning Tower: Review Part II «
  2. Linky Love «
  3. Give-Away: Little Partners Learning Tower «

Thoughts?

