Skip to content

Birds in a Nest

April 20, 2011

For the Easter holiday this year, I decided to create most of O’s gifts by hand.  First there was his board-shorts longies, then the sweater (that he received a bit early), some leg warmers are currently on the needles, and just yesterday I finished these darling birds in their nest.

click photo for ravelry details

O watches the birds around our house on a daily basis and loves feeding them with Papa.  I’m over-the-moon delighted with how well this project turned out and can’t wait to give it to my sweet little boy!

click photo for ravelry details

This entire project was made with scrap yarn and materials we had around the house.  The blue is left-over from the EZ sweater and the orange for the beaks is from this hat.  The stuffing for the birds and the nest are Peace Fleece pencil roving.  To make the nest, I used a large crochet hook (K?) and then crocheted around and around (much like for a hat) until it was a good size.  Then I felted it in the washing machine and let it dry overnight.  I love the added textural element that the mohair content of the Peace Fleece gives the nest!

What are you working on?  Any special Springtime or Easter gifts in the works?

PS  I’ve found that I can make my individual Ravelry project pages visible to the public.  You should be able to follow the links above even if you are not a Ravelry member!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 12:59 pm

    Wow!! So great!

  2. April 20, 2011 8:00 pm

    Oh Carrie, those birds are beautiful and the nest just perfect.

  3. Tara W. permalink
    May 28, 2011 12:52 pm

    How sweet! I have TONS of Ravelry links saved for that day when I get enough free time to sit down and learn how to crochet or knit. I’ve always wanted to make my own toys!

Trackbacks

  1. Spring Crafting |

Thoughts?

