Skip to content

DIY Pre-Fitted Cloth Diapers

March 21, 2011

Want to know a secret?  I like prefolds.  A lot. They’re inexpensive, easy to clean, made of natural fibers, and I think learning different ways to use them is kind of fun.  All these virtues aside, getting a prefold on an active toddler with better things to do than have his diaper changed can be a bit tricky!  May I present a perfect solution?  The Pre-Fitted!

I looked at quite a few online tutorials before deciding on this one.  Each pre-fitted diaper takes about an hour to make from start to finish (for me, anyway).  I was a little nervous about creating my own template, but I went for it and am quite happy with the results!  I’ve been using organic unbleached cotton prefolds (orange/standard size) from Jillian’s to make O’s pre-fitteds.  I imagine as long as you avoid the super thin department store prefolds, any brand should work just fine.

Notes:

  • I use a zig-zag stitch on the whole diaper, not just the soaker part.  I think this makes it look more finished and creates stronger seams.
  • I’m considering making the “soaker” part of the diaper mostly seperate and only attaching the soaker at one end so that it dries faster.
  • For the most comfortable fit around the waist, I leave enough slack in the back elastic so that I can still pull the diaper flat.
  • For the legs, I pull the elastic as taught as I can to make sure it creates a nice snug fit to prevent leaks.
  • We like to use Snappis with wool covers over O’s pre-fitteds.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 12:05 pm

    Very nice. Much fancier than the ones I make – I don’t have the patience to put an hour into one diaper! :) I have made the soaker part a separate flap before – but living in California means that they dry really fast in the summer anyway, so the last batch were just all sewn together. They do dry faster in the dryer when they have the flap. And, boy how I love my Snappi – how did we even live without those wonderful things? :)

    • March 21, 2011 12:16 pm

      Mind if I ask how you do it? I agree, an hour is a bit of time for a single diaper! I do love them though and I imagine it might go more quickly for other sewists. I’m suspicious that I work slowly ;)
      Yes, you and I are on opposite coasts! Using the line still isn’t even an option right now (still snowing)! I don’t think I’ll mind the drying time once we can get things outside again!

  2. Michelle permalink
    March 21, 2011 12:41 pm

    I’m loving this, but the pattern seems a bit hard for a novice sewer. How would you compare it to Sew Liberated’s toddler apron? Because on your recommendation I bought the book and made that one last weekend – it turned out adorable and I added a snap placket at the neck since my little man has such a large noggin’. But – I’d love to know how you think these two patterns compare, me being new to sewing and all.

    • March 21, 2011 12:51 pm

      Great idea adding a placket to the toddler apron! :)
      It’s kind of difficult for me to compare these two things since the apron provides an actual pattern and the diaper is tutorial style. That said, I am not by any means especially skilled with a sewing machine and I found this to be easy enough. The tutorial does a good job of explaining each step. I think, if you just take it step by step with the pre-fitted, you’ll do just fine! Even if your results aren’t perfect, chances are you’ll still end up with something you can use. If not? Try again! Good Luck! :)

  3. March 2, 2013 2:11 am

    it’s very cute..
    .i try to make inexpensive, easy to clean and quick dry nappy. if you want to see my nappy….http://ilutju.blogspot.com/2013/03/do-be-dam-smart-insert.html

    thanks your idea really inspiring me…

  4. January 7, 2016 6:57 pm

    Hi! don’t know if you’re still around looking at comments but the link to the tutorial works but the blog it links to is no longer there :( I’m currently converting my stash of prefolds to prefitteds and yours is the prettiest I could find online! Is there a way you could email me the tutorial or something? thanks so much :) junebuggy120@gmail.com

Thoughts?

