Skip to content

Honey Cowl

March 16, 2011

A fair amount of knitting happens around here.  I always have something on the needles and certainly have miles of plans for future projects as well.  You would think that this knitting mama would be swimming in hand-knits.  That’s just the thing though…  I’m not.  Not even close.  I rarely knit for myself.  If I have ever given you any single knitted item at all, then I have given you just as many as I’ve given myself.

Until now.  Now I have two.  Two cowls, that is!

click photo for ravelry details

I just love cowls!  (Well, scarves in general if we’re being honest.)  This is the Honey Cowl by madelinetosh knitted up in Peace Fleece Worsted.  I have worn it every.single.day since casting off!  It’s squishy, warm, and getting softer by the minute.  The pattern is very simple and creates the most beautiful texture.

Now, if I could only manage to finish that February Lady Sweater I started so long ago…

What are you working on lately?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 10:34 am

    It’s lovely! You should knit for yourself more often!

  2. March 16, 2011 11:43 am

    You always have the most beautiful yarn! I just learned to crochet last year when I was created Cami’s waldorf doll. I’ve enjoyed making a few things with that and hope on my road trip to get better. After that knitting is on my list. Do you recommend any books for beginners?

    • March 16, 2011 11:50 am

      The book I used most while learning was Reader’s Digest Complete Guide to Needlework. Mine is from a library sale and about a million years old ;) I also LOVE Elizabeth Zimmermann’s books. Her “pithy” instructions can be upsetting for some knitters as she doesn’t spell patterns out line for line. I prefer her style though because I find it allows more room for creativity and less worry about making the project “perfect”. Ravelry is, of course, amazing. You can find tons of advice on the forums and there is a huge selection of patterns available as well. Hope that helps! Can’t wait to see what you create :)

    • March 16, 2011 11:51 am

      Oh, and thanks so much for complimenting my yarn choices. I have a serious weakness for Peace Fleece. I just love it! ;)

Thoughts?

