Skip to content

Toddler Nooks II: O’s Bedroom

March 8, 2011

Before we begin part II of our Toddler Nooks series, I’d like to share a few things:

  • Our home is a rental.  It’s also fairly small.  Both of these things certainly affect the way we can use our space.  B & I have begun the house-hunting process, but in the meantime, we enjoy getting creative with the space we have.
  • All of our nooks, spaces, and general decorating is done on a very tight budget.  This is partly because we like to be frugal, partly because we’re saving for that house, and partly because it’s kind of fun when we’re forced to find more creative solutions!
  • Because a few people have asked…  Yes, the first couple of days after we introduce a new child-accessible space, O does get excited and “get into” things.  What can I say?  He’s a toddler.  We just make sure everything within his reach is safe for him.  (That is kind of the point, right?)  After a day or two, the novelty wears off and we no longer have books, prefolds, or whatever else strewn about.  Keeping clutter to a minimum also helps!

On with the series!

O’s Bedroom

Since becoming parents, B and I have heard many times to keep O in his crib as long as possible.  While I understand the logic behind this advice, I can’t say I agree.  Put simply (and said with a smile):  We want our child to sleep in a bed, not a cage.  What I mean is, O has been independently declaring naptime for a few weeks now.  It only makes sense to us that if he is devolopmentally in a place where he can clearly ask us to place him in his bed (previously a crib), then perhaps it is time for us to change his environment to better meet his current needs.  The purpose of O’s crib was not to restrain him, only to keep him safe.  Now he has a bed that he can climb in and out of easily in a room that is safe for him to inhabit and explore.  See that white box on the wall by the bookshelf?  My sister-in-law made my day when she introduced me to this sort of in-use outlet cover!  (Ours are very similar to this one.)

O’s Reading Rocker

As I’ve mentioned before, we don’t keep a lot of toys in O’s room.  He has a few items to play with, but this is primarily a calm space for dressing and resting.  The scale of the furniture is more difficult to see from photos, but everything in his room is small and accomodating to a toddler.  Even the art and photos are hung at a low level where he can more easily enjoy them.  The only spot you see here that is out of his reach is the very top shelf of his bookcase.

Not pictured is a little nook off to the left where his dresser and diaper changing station are.  That area is currently in transition as O is beginning to do more for himself.

What is your little one’s room like?  How has it changed as your child has grown?

PS  I would love love love to have (make?) a rug like this for O’s room one day!  So beautiful!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 7:01 pm

    It’s adorable! I completely agree with the idea of moving them into a bed asap. We fixed up our son’s toddler bed (exactly like yours) the moment he was able to pull himself in and out safely. I think that it really helped with the ‘transition’ (because he was too young to care) and in the past 6 months we’ve never, ever had problems with him not wanting to stay in bed since now it’s all he knows.

    I’m love-loving your little spaces series :)

  2. March 10, 2011 11:13 am

    That rug is adorable!
    I love O’s room. We switched Noah to a bed earlier than I was ready to. Both switched before two and I think with Noah, it was a security blanket for me. I knew our routine and switching it worried me. But, at about 18 mos. he started climbing out of his crib, which is scary. So we switched him around 20 mos. I love his room, makes me want to snuggle up and take a nap! :-)

  3. March 10, 2011 1:03 pm

    I would also like to start sleeping in O’s room. Mama might come in one night to find us laying on his floor snuggled up in the monkey rug.

Trackbacks

  1. The Bedtime Routine «

Thoughts?

