Skip to content

On Fear…

March 2, 2011

“Many of our children are not learning to trust, but to mistrust and fear.  While some of this fear may be grounded, extreme behavior and imbalanced behavior is not healthy for us as parents or for our children.  For me, having children has been (and continues to be) a lesson in learning to let go of many of my fears.”

~Shannon Honeybloom
Making a Family Home, 2010

It is my hope that my son will grow up without fear.  Fear is such a limiting emotion.  In these days of overly sensationalized and nearly constant media, it can be difficult to escape the whatifs and maybes.  I believe it is my role as a parent to fill my son with enough self-worth and confidence that reason and common sense will come naturally, that he will be cautious when necessary without being fearful.  It is my intention that O will live boldly and not miss experiences or opportunities due to the anxiety and stress brought on by a fearful culture.

What are your thoughts?  Where do you draw the line between caution and fear?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 12:45 am

    Its definitely hard. I definitely have fears and I never want to press them onto the kids, but in a day & age where there are some really not good people out there, I want to teach the kids that they can’t trust everyone, even those that appear to be nice. To be “cautious” as you say without being fearful. To be kind and yet careful. That’s a lot … a whole lot!

  2. March 3, 2011 5:15 pm

    Oh goodness. I was invited to speak at a school and I have been dreading doing it because I am afraid I will not be good enough. I was literally just praying about it and talking to my husband and I came across this post. “It is my intention that O will live boldly and not miss experiences or opportunities due to the anxiety and stress brought on by a fearful culture.”

    I guess I got my answer! :) Thanks for posting!

Trackbacks

  1. keep you safe | tumbledweeds
  2. fear not | tumbledweeds
  3. Toddler Nooks III: In the Kitchen «

Thoughts?

