Skip to content

A Series of Small Spaces: Toddler Nooks I

March 1, 2011

A couple of weeks ago, I had the pleasure of guest-blogging on Simplicity Parenting about the “toddler nooks” we have created within our home.  While that post is specific to the bookshelf  in our main living area, there are plenty more of these child-accessible nooks and spaces throughout our home.

Whenever the topic of creating a child-friendly home comes up, the same thing always happens.  People get excited.  It seems everyone I know is thrilled at the prospect of creating an environment that meets the needs of the entire family.  Hooray!

While I’m certainly not claiming to be an expert on the topic, I am open to sharing a bit of “how we do it”.  So, beginning with one of the simplest of spaces, this post is part one of a series I like to call “Toddler Nooks”.

O’s outdoor gear

This is one of the first “toddler nooks” that made an appearance in our home.  It is where we keep O’s “outdoor gear”.  It is merely three wood pegs and a bit of floor space near the front door.  The pegs are hung low at a level where O can hang or remove his coat/hat/mittens himself.  He also has two pairs of shoes there on the floor.  Keeping these things accessible to him is a wonderful way to support his desire to do things for himself and in turn is great for his developing self-esteem.

This process of creating a family-centered home is always evolving and changing,  just as our needs evolve and change.  We have many more nooks and spaces that I’ll be sharing with you in the coming weeks.  In the meantime, I’d love to hear what sort of ideas you have implemented in your own homes!

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. jess permalink
    March 1, 2011 10:37 am

    my parents put a mirror low on the bathroom wall so i could watch my self brushing my teeth and hair and whatnot. I loved it and it made me feel grown up to get ready for school in the morning while mom got ready for work. awww i’d forgotten about that :-)

    • March 1, 2011 11:13 am

      :) Right now, I have to limit O’s bathroom time… or he would wash his hands all day! I have thought about hanging a mirror behind his little potty station though!

  2. March 1, 2011 2:11 pm

    I ADORE the idea of a hook for their stuff by the door. We have two small children and it’s such a pain because they leave their coats wherever they fall off! I’m totally going to steal this :)

  3. March 1, 2011 11:38 pm

    We have picture frames of artwork low (at their eye level) in their playroom and rooms as well as a mirror down low in the playroom so they can see what they look like when they dress up or act silly. I’d love to put a coat rack down low. I thought about it in this house, but didn’t. It would be nice, especially since they can’t reach high up I normally find their hoodies or jackets on the floor after we come in. :-) Great series Carrie, looking forward to seeing your other spots.

    • March 2, 2011 11:36 am

      I keep thinking of putting a low mirror on the wall behind O’s “potty station”. The more I think if it, the more it just makes sense! When I help him get dressed in the morning, it is in front of a mirror so he can watch… I think it might be a wonderful tool for potty learning as well!

  4. March 3, 2011 5:43 pm

    I love this idea!

Trackbacks

  1. The Bedtime Routine «

Thoughts?

