Skip to content

The Process

February 9, 2011

In a recent post, we discussed process vs product and being present for the creating rather than merely focusing on the finishing.  While that post specifically addresses knitting, I believe this concept of process can be applied to all areas of our lives:  washing the dishes, walking to the park, or baking bread.  It’s about presence.  It’s about experience and living our lives rather than completing them.

So, today, I thought I’d share a little bit of my process with you!

As the mama of an active toddler, I have very full days.  Don’t we all?  In order to create a little room for my creative life and keep my thoughts from meeting a multi-tasking demise, I carry a notebook.  It is small, flexible, and spiral bound, great for folding over on itself and hooking a pen onto.  This notebook follows the flow of my day, in the dining room during the daylight hours and on my nightstand in the evening.  This way whenever I think of something that must be remembered, be it a knitted design, a post idea, or a grocery list, I can jot it down before it’s gone forever.  This notebook is the keeper of my days.  It is not a traditional diary, but it is a journal of sorts for sure!

When we provide ourselves with a place to keep our thoughts, then we are free to be present and focus on the task at hand, whatever that may be.

So, tell me, what is your process like?

PS  If you aren’t someone that already keeps a journal and would like to get started, there is a wonderful article on journaling 101 here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 10:05 am

    I write lists and ideas along with doodles all the time, but don’t keep it in a journal. I really should, instead of having these random papers and receipts floating about.

    • February 10, 2011 1:30 pm

      Random papers and receipts are my husband’s method! He then transferrs the “most important” things to a notebook later (if he can find them, that is). ;)

  2. nancy permalink
    February 9, 2011 11:36 am

    Very nice post! I really should start a journal again. I miss it!

Trackbacks

  1. Kid Art: Process «

Thoughts?

