Skip to content

Rustic Chocolate Cake

January 31, 2011

Winter meals are all about comfort food around here, especially on the weekends.  On Sundays, we like to have a big dinner with something equally indulgent for dessert.  The perfect way to end a weekend, if you ask me!  This past weekend, our great indulgence was a double layer chocolate cake with fudgy chocolate frosting.  Oh, yes!

The first cake I ever frosted in this rustic (ahem) manner was “Bill’s Big Carrot Cake” by Dorie Greenspan.  I love the cozy, homey look of it.  I also love not dealing with a crumb coat and to be honest, I frost our cakes this way as often as I think I’ll get away with it!

This Rustic Chocolate Cake & Fudgy Frosting are both via the Hershey’s website.  I don’t use Hershey’s cocoa (or chocolate), but this recipe for chocolate cake and frosting is a favorite.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 12:23 pm

    It looks yummy!

  2. nancy permalink
    February 1, 2011 11:28 am

    I’m drooling!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake «

Thoughts?

