Skip to content

Handmade Halloween

October 27, 2010

I have to be honest, I haven’t been excited about Halloween in a long long time.  Now that I have a little one of my own and have the opportunity to make this festive time about more than just candy, I’m rather delighted!

I love the idea of a Jack-O-Lantern offering light and warmth as the days grow shorter and cooler.  Last weekend, we traveled to a local farm and picked our own pumpkin.  Then we brought it home to make our Jack-O-Lantern.  O was thrilled when we dimmed the lights and showed it to him all lit up!

I also like the idea of children dressing up as characters that send a message of goodness and security to the child (and therefore encourage positive pretending and dress up in future play).

click photo for ravelry details

What, I ask you, could be more noble (or adorable) than a bumble bee!?  I knitted this little hat for O keeping in mind that he could continue to use it throughout the cold days ahead.  I’m making him a pair of longies to match that he’ll also be able to keep using through the coming winter.  Adorable, affordable, and practical.  Yes, indeed!

What are your plans this Halloween?

PS  I’m wearing a scarf and a sling in the first photo.  They happen to be the same color, so it looks a little like I have the sling around my neck (I don’t)!  No need to be concerned.  ;)

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 1:58 pm

    So cute – Scout was a bumblebee when he was about 18 months old too…

  2. October 27, 2010 2:52 pm

    Adorable! I LOVE the hat, you are very talented and the best part is the re-usability!

  3. October 27, 2010 2:53 pm

    I was going to ask about the sling around your neck! Glad you clarified ;)

    • October 27, 2010 2:56 pm

      Hahaha. I thought I better leave a note so no one got nervous! The sling and the scarf are almost the exact same color… I was just being matchy matchy, not dangerous! ;)

  4. October 27, 2010 5:13 pm

    My SleepyWrap is the same color as several of my shirts. People often stop me and ask if it’s a special shirt made to hold babies. It’s hilarious.

    We’re trying to establish Halloween traditions that aren’t centered around candy. It’s difficult with my oldest son (eight) because his grandparents have always equated the holiday to sugar shock. Bleh.

  5. jess permalink
    November 4, 2010 12:15 pm

    Adorable! Haha I was wondering how wrapping the sling around your neck could possibly be safe or comfortable, I feel pretty silly now :P. I’m jealous of your green sweater!

  6. October 31, 2012 8:44 am

    Reblogged this on and commented:

    I’m still holding true to this perspective on Halloween. Not my favorite of holidays, we try to find a way to make it stand true to our values while not completely missing out on festivities. This year we’ve visited a local pumpkin patch, carved a pumpkin, and read many stories. This morning we’ll dress in our (mama-made) costumes and meet friends for story hour at the library. Then perhaps some pumpkin-themed baking this afternoon. What are your plans this year?

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Halloween 2010 |
  2. Handmade Halloween 2011 «
  3. Happy Halloween 2011 «

Thoughts?

