Skip to content

Babywearing: Finding My Tribe

October 7, 2010

When B and I decided to conceive O, we were at a strange place in our lives.  We were post bachelors degrees, living in a new city, our friends were scattered about the country, B was just beginning his career, I was in between employment entirely, and we did not yet have that house we hoped to have before starting a family.  Yet, somehow, we knew it was time.

I always feel like it would be polite to apologize for the cleavage in this photo, but I’m not going to.  I kind of love it…  So fertile looking!

Pregnancy was kind of a lonely time for me.  I had yet to make any friends  in our new city and certainly not any mama friends!  The upside to all this is that I found myself with a lot of time for reading and researching and thinking about different parenting choices.  I can’t remember exactly how I bumped into the term “babywearing”, but I’m ever so thankful that I did!

I’ve written many times about how babywearing helped our family through those first days, but it’s been so much more than that.  Through this simple thing that I’m so passionate about, this simple piece of cloth, I’ve found my tribe.

Beyond the immediate, more physical benefits, this thing that I’m so in love with has lead to many other opportunities and relationships, even friendships.  Connecting with like-minded mothers all over the world has been an incredibly enlightening, not to mention heartwarming, experience.  We’ve bought, sold, traded, and swapped.  We’ve even borrowed!

Babywearing is far more than a way to keep my child close or keep my hands free.  For us, it’s become a lifestyle.

Happy Wearing!
~Carrie

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 10:13 am

    is that the girasol earthy rainbow I spy?????

    • October 8, 2010 12:22 pm

      Hi Rebecca :)
      That is a Didy Katja… It’s actually a really sweet story… Katja was our first woven wrap. When we found her I knew our family would benefit from a woven wrap but had almost nothing of a budget to purchase one. I bumped into a mama online that needed just a bit of cash for holiday gifts. She sold me Katja for just $55!!! Katja spent one trip around the sun with us and then just a few weeks ago returned to her originally family. They were very glad to have her back and we were glad to discover other wraps to love.
      Earthy Rainbow is lovely though. I haven’t tried one yet, but have certainly been tempted! :)

  2. October 8, 2010 12:00 pm

    I love both of you so very much!

Thoughts?

