Skip to content

An Autumn Cardi

September 15, 2010

Friends, here’s the thing, I’m really struggling with this project.  It isn’t the pattern.  Oh no, that EZ was a genius and the BSJ is amazing.  It is, however, the yarn, Noro Silk Garden.

click photo for ravelry details

I had such high expectations for this yarn.  So far?  Disappointment.  Yet, ever the crafting optimist, I keep knitting away.  The yarn is scratchy, uneven, and has bits of whoknowswhat in it.  It can also boast lots of random knots and tangles.  Certainly not what one would expect of a “luxury” yarn.  Luckily for me, this is a discontinued color and I got it on clearance.  I’ve read on Ravelry reviews that Noro yarn softens significantly with washing.  So, in the name of optimism, I remain hopeful.  Besides, aren’t the colors nice for Fall?

What are you working on for the coming cooler weather?

~Carrie

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    September 15, 2010 1:15 pm

    Yikes. I love the colors but i’ve had the same issue with cestari superfine. I knitted a pair of shorties and just cringed every time I picked up my needles because i HATED the way it felt between my fingers :( I still have the cuffs left to knit but doubt I will. Lol. Hope you have better luck with yours!

    oh! my latest WIP is the young einstein (listed on ravelry this time!) for D. I have some yarn waiting to be worked on for another sleuthing hoodie for my sister’s new nephew. My photography is certainly dampening my time for knitting/crocheting :D hahah

  2. September 15, 2010 1:31 pm

    The colours are awesome and will be perfect for fall – I do hope it softens up – as little ones never like scratchy sweaters…

Thoughts?

